(Approved at January 24, 2020 Board of Trustees Meeting)

## COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON UNIVERSITY OF CHARLESTON, SC

Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees Randolph Hall Boardroom<sup>1</sup>

December 20, 2019 10:30 a.m.

Presiding: David Hay, Chair

**Board Members Present:** Trustees Beth Burke, Demetria Clemons (Vice Chair), David Hay (Chair) and Steve Swanson

**Board Members Participating by Conference Call:** Trustees Laurin Burch, John Busch, Cherry Daniel, Hank Futch, Henrietta Golding, Shawn Holland, Renee Romberger, Penny Rosner, Tav Swarat, Craig Thornton, Ricci Welch, and John Wood

**Board Members Absent:** Trustees Chuck Baker (*recused himself from the McAlister issue*), Randy Lowell, Toya Pound, and Brian Stern

Others Present: Andrew Hsu (President), Mark Berry (Executive Director, Division of Marketing and Communications), Elizabeth Kassebaum (Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees/VP, College Projects), Everett McInnis (Director of Budgeting & Payroll Services), Amy Orr (Director of Business & Auxiliary Services), Paul Patrick (Chief of Staff), Ed Pope (VP, Human Resources/Interim Exec. VP, Business Affairs), Alan Shao (Dean, School of Business), Chris Tobin (Exec. VP/Exec. Dir., Foundation), Fran Welch (Interim Provost), and Dawn Willan (Controller/Interim Senior VP, Fiscal Services)

**Special Guests:** Matt Bernstein (*Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP*), Jesse Kirchner (*Attorney*), and Perry Woodside (*Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP*)

Others Participating by Conference Call: Melantha Ardrey (Director, Residence Life) and Angela Mulholland (General Counsel)

## WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS:

Chair Hay called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. noting that the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>In accordance with requirements of the *S. C. Freedom of Information Act*, news media was notified of the time, location, and agenda for this meeting.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION:**

The motion was made by Trustee Demetria Clemons, and seconded by Trustee Steve Swanson, to resolve the Board into Executive Session for discussion of negotiations incident to proposed contractual arrangements and proposed purchase/lease of property. All in favor.

Trustees Laurin Burch, John Busch, Cherry Daniel, Hank Futch, Henrietta Golding, Shawn Holland, Renee Romberger, Penny Rosner, Tav Swarat, Craig Thornton, Ricci Welch, and John Wood participated by conference call.

Only the Board Members, President Hsu, Mark Berry, Elizabeth Kassebaum, Angela Mulholland (conference call), Paul Patrick, Ed Pope, Alan Shao, Chris Tobin and Fran Welch remained for Executive Session.

[Everyone not requested to attend Executive Session left the Boardroom.]

Chair Hay asked all conference call participants to acknowledge that they were on a phone line not being recorded and in a private venue and alone while on the call. All responded affirmatively.

[At this point, Alan Shao left the meeting and Matt Bernstein, Jesse Kirchner, and Perry Woodside joined the meeting.]

The motion was made by Trustee Renee Romberger, and seconded by Trustee Ricci Welch, to come out of Executive Session. All in favor.

[Regular session resumed.]

Chair Hay noted for the record that no action was taken during Executive Session.

Chair Hay noted that he and President Hsu will schedule a workshop for additional property issues updates.

The motion was made by Trustee Demetria Clemons, and seconded by Trustee Steve Swanson, authorizing the President to execute an agreement to name the College of Charleston School of Business.

The motion was made by Trustee Beth Burke, and seconded by Trustee Steve Swanson, to adjourn the meeting. All in favor.