(To be approved at January 27, 2017 Board of Trustees Meeting)

# COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON UNIVERSITY OF CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA

## SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES<sup>1</sup>

Randolph Hall Boardroom
College of Charleston, Charleston, South Carolina
December 1, 2016
10:00 a.m.

Presiding: David M. Hay, Chair

<u>Board Members Present</u>: Trustees Donald H. Belk, Demetria Noisette Clemons, David M. Hay, Randy R. Lowell, and Joseph F. Thompson, Jr.

<u>Board Members Participating by Conference Call</u>: Trustees L. Cherry Daniel, Frank M. Gadsden, Annaliza O. Moorhead, Gregory D. Padgett, Renee B. Romberger, Penny S. Rosner, Jeffrey Schilz, Ricci Land Welch, and John B. Wood, Jr.

<u>Board Members Absent</u>: Trustees John H. Busch, Henrietta U. Golding, Toya D. Pound, Brian J. Stern, and M. Todd Warrick

Others Present: President Glenn McConnell, Michael Adeyanju (Director, Executive Communications), Mark Berry (Director of College Marketing and Communications), Divya Bhati (Associate VP, Institutional Effectiveness and Strategic Planning), Alicia Caudill (Executive VP, Student Affairs), Betty Craig (Executive Assistant), Mercedes Fabers (Assistant General Counsel), Michael Faikes (SGA President), Greg Fisher (IT Representative), Jimmie Foster (Assistant VP, Admissions and Financial Aid), Debbie Hammond (Senior Executive Administrator for the President), Sam Jones (VP, Fiscal Services), Elizabeth Kassebaum (Executive Secretary to the Board and VP for College Projects), Edward Longe (GSA President), Brian McGee (Provost/Executive VP, Academic Affairs), Amy Orr (Director, Business and Auxiliary Services/Campus Housing), Steve Osborne (Executive VP, Business Affairs), Paul Patrick (VP of Administration and Planning), Ben Powers (Telecommunications Representative), Mike Robertson (Senior Director of Media Relations), Alexa Thacker (Facilities and Event Support), JoAnn Throckmorton (Administrative Assistant), and George Watt (Executive VP, Institutional Advancement)

1

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>In accordance with requirements of the *S. C. Freedom of Information Act*, news media was notified of the time, location, and agenda for this meeting.

#### Welcome:

Chair Hay welcomed everyone attending this special meeting. He didn't foresee his first meeting as Chair of the Board to be a special meeting, but he expressed his appreciation to all who are able to participate in the meeting this morning either in person or by conference call.

Before beginning the business portion of the meeting, he expressed his deep appreciation to everyone who traveled to Anderson, SC for fellow Board member, Eddie Thomas' memorial service – John Busch, Demetria Clemons, Frank Gadsden, Elizabeth Kassebaum, President Glenn McConnell, Brian McGee, Annaliza Moorhead, Greg Padgett, Renee Romberger, Jeff Schilz, Ricci Welch, and John wood.

Chair Hay informed the Board that Julie Price at the Legislative Screening Committee informed Elizabeth Kassebaum that notice to submit Letters of Intent for Eddie's Board seat will be distributed to the media and all of the State's higher education institutions' Board secretaries in a few weeks. They will try to run the elections for Eddie's seat and a couple of other institutions' Board seats on the same schedule as those institutions for which Letters of Intent have already been received to be elected in the spring.

Chair Hay paused for a moment of silence so that everyone may reflect on the meaning and significance of Eddie Thomas' life.

[pause for a moment of silence]

### .Meeting Called to Order:

This special meeting of the Board of Trustees was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chair Hay noting that the meeting notice has been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act.

### Welcome:

Chair Hay welcomed everyone attending the meeting and noted that Trustee Don Belk, Demetria Clemons, Randy Lowell, and Joe Thompson are present in the room and Trustees Cherry Daniel, Frank Gadsden, Annaliza Moorhead, Greg Padgett, Renee Romberger, Penny Rosner, Jeff Schilz, Ricci Welch, and John Wood will participate by conference call.

Also, he welcomed President McConnell, Michael Adeyanju, Mark Berry, Divya Bhati, Alicia Caudill, Betty Craig, Mercedes Fabers, Michael Faikes, Greg Fisher, Jimmie Foster, Debbie Hammond, Sam Jones, Elizabeth Kassebaum, Edward Longe, Brian McGee, Amy Orr, Steve Osborne, Paul Patrick, Ben Powers, Mike Robertson, JoAnn Throckmorton, and George Watt to the meeting.

### **Executive Session:**

The motion was made by Trustee Demetria Clemons, and seconded by Trustee Randy Lowell, to go into Executive Session at 10:05 a.m. for the following purposes: (1) Discussion of contractual matters related to Commencement, and (2) Discussion of negotiations incident to proposed contractual arrangements and proposed purchase/lease of property on the peninsula. All in favor.

Chair Hay asked the following staff members, in addition to the President, to remain and attend Executive Session: Mark Berry, Alicia Caudill, Betty Craig, Mercedes Fabers, Jimmie Foster, Debbie Hammond, Sam Jones, Elizabeth Kassebaum, Amy Orr, Steve Osborne, Paul Patrick, and George Watt.

[Everyone not requested to attend Executive Session left the Boardroom.]

For reasons of confidentiality in Executive Session, Chair Hay asked those Board members on conference call to acknowledge that they are on a phone line not being recorded and in a private venue and alone while on this call. [Trustees L. Cherry Daniel, Frank M. Gadsden, Annaliza O. Moorhead, Gregory D. Padgett, Renee B. Romberger, Penny S. Rosner, Jeffrey Schilz, Ricci Land Welch, and John B. Wood, Jr. responded affirmatively.]

[Divya Bhati and Mark Staples joined Executive Session at 11:25a.m.]

[Trustee Randy Lowell left Executive Session at 11:25 a.m.]

[Trustee Ricci Welch left Executive Session (conference call) at 11:25 a.m.]

[Trustee Jeff Schilz left Executive Session (conference call) at 11:35 a.m.]

The motion was made by Trustee Joe Thompson, and seconded by Trustee Demetria Clemons, to come out of Executive Session at 11:45 a.m. All in favor.

[Regular session resumed and everyone returned to the Boardroom.]

Chair Hay noted for the record that no action was taken in Executive Session.

[Trustee Randy Lowell re-joined the meeting by conference call at 11:50 a.m.]

President McConnell provided the Board with an update on the Five-Year Plan. The Dashboard proposal will be presented at the January Board of Trustees meeting.

The motion was made by Trustee Cherry Daniel, and seconded by Trustee Don Belk, that the Administration continue to implement the proposed Bridge Program and the new Bridge Program with Trident Technical College for the Fall 2017 school year. Chair Hay called for the yeas and nays, and twelve Board members (present and on conference call) voted in favor of the proposed Bridge Program, and the motion was approved by 2/3 majority vote. For the record, Trustees Don Belk, Demetria Clemons, Cherry Daniel, Frank Gadsden, David Hay, Randy Lowell, Annaliza Moorhead, Greg Padgett, Renee Romberger, Penny Rosner, Joe Thompson, and John Wood voted in favor of the motion.

### Meeting Adjourned:

The motion was made by Trustee Cherry Daniel, and seconded by Trustee Demetria Clemons, that the meeting be adjourned at 11:55 a.m. All in favor.